What Is Certificate IV In Aged Care and What Is Requirement To Fulfill It?

Certificate IV, is a recognized Training Program or recognition process in aged care services for building skills acquired by successfully completing the Certificate III in Individual support for Aged course. It lays down a foundation of the learners to supervise other support workers. It advocates for the elderly in an ethical, caring and legal framework, prescribed by the Australian government. Those who complete these Aged Care Courses can be absorbed in any of the following jobs

  • Aged Care Workers
  • Personal Care Assistants
  • Accommodation Support Worker
  • Residential Care Worker
  • Care Team Leader
  • In-home Respite Worker
  • Assistants in Nursing
  • Care Supervisor
  • Day Activity Worker
  • Assistant Hostel Supervisor
  • Hostel Supervisor
  • Program Coordinator-Social Programs
  • Senior Community Care Worker
  • Community Support Worker
  • Disability Participant Worker
  • Service Coordinator
  • Transport Coordinator

The Certificate IV in aged care prepares the learners, primarily to work in residential facilities within the pre-defined service plans and organizational guidelines. It enables the workers for discharging the following responsibilities for the elderly and senior citizens who need support, care and attention. These responsibilities include the following

  • Carrying out responsibilities to maintain the well being of the elderly through personal care.
  • Working with group of elderly people to fulfill their complex needs. Participating independently in community activities and programs in different settings that may include center-based or residential programs.
  • Liaising with health professionals and other service providers.
  • Reporting to the Service Managers.

The first requirement to get an entry into the Aged Care Course to obtain Certificate IV is to get competency and recognition against the following core units from Certificate III in Aged Care.

  • Working effectively with aged people
  • Providing Support to those suffering from Dementia
  • Effectively Working with Community Programs
  • Supporting individual for Emotional wellbeing and health
  • Delivering Care services by adopting a palliative approach
  • Recognizing healthy body systems in context of health care.

The following is the Course Structure of Certificate IV aged care courses. It includes 10 Core units and 5 Elective units.

CORE Modules

1: Providing services to elderly people having complex needs

2: Facilitating support to the specific nature of dementia

3: Intervening with elderly people who are at risk of falling

4: Advocating for clients

5: Working within an ethical and legal framework

6: Facilitating support for personal care needs of the aged persons

7: Facilitating plans, customized to individuals

8: Coordinating the information systems

9: Facilitating links with other services

10: Supervising work of others.


1: Applying First-Aid

2: Following WHS Safety procedures for the Direct Care work

3: Working effectively with co-workers and with culturally diverse clients

4: Assisting clients with medication

5: Working effectively with aged ones having disability

Students will get all the learner and assessment guides for each unit of competency.


  • Aged above 18
  • Competency in Certificate III in Aged Care courses
  • Completion of course requirement form
  • Language Literacy and Numeracy skills with at least 10 years in English
  • Basic Computer skills
  • A current and satisfactory National Police Check
  • A Reasonable level of physical fitness
  • Photo of Identification
  • Personal interest in Health, Community and Disability Sector

Modes of Learning

Aged Care courses are delivered in Class room environment, Group Workshop or in the work place. There are also provisions for Self-paced Online Learning. Students, anywhere in Australia can avail the aged care courses, at their convenience, ease and location. Besides those living in major cities like Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide, students belonging to remote places in Australia too can avail the training facilities.

The courses are nationally recognized and comply with the mandatory requirements as laid down by the Education and Care Services National Regulations and National Quality Standard.

Course Duration is 12 months

Government Funding

Students in Queensland, Victoria and New South Wales are eligible to government funding for continuation of their Certificate IV courses for old age.

Usually, those above the age of 65 need professional care and support for living a productive and satisfying life. In most cases, their off springs have either no time or the concern for their aging parents. But, they can support their parents financially, if someone takes care of their parents. Moreover, Australian government is funding the aged care sectors. Therefore, the jobs in this sector are quite remunerative. The first time job seekers and in-job aged care workers prefer to join the certificate IV in aged care. Since the courses run throughout the year, students can enroll themselves at any time of the year.